Mr. Love & Justice - LP


anti-records - Mr. Love & Justice - LP
LP ($14.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. I Keep Faith
  2. I Almost Killed You
  3. M For Me
  4. The Beach Is Free
  5. Sing Their Souls Back Home
  6. You Make Me Brave
  7. Something Happened
  8. Mr. Love & Justice
  9. If You Ever Leave
  10. O Freedom
  11. The Johnny Carcinogenic Show
  12. Farm Boy

Considered “a national treasure” in his native England, Bragg has long been a cult hero in the US, releasing consistently celebrated solo records and recording with everyone from Wilco to Less Than Jake. In his two and a half decades of carrying the torch, Bragg has melded the folksy populism of Woody Guthrie with the anger and indignation of the Clash, and both are perfectly encapsulated on Mr. Love and Justice. Over the years, Bragg has concerned himself with social justice, but never losing sight of the power of the personal relationships that hold us together and are capable of bringing about the kind of redemption that outstrips even the greatest political movements, sentiments highlighted on opening track “I Keep Faith“. Songs such as “O Freedom” and “Farm Boy” are classic Bragg: mercilessly perceptive, yet hauntingly personal in the manner of their storytelling. On Billy Bragg’s most mature record to date, the title says it all.

“Bragg’s the missing link between Woody Guthrie and Joe Strummer, and anyone who’s seen him perform in recent years knows he retains the power to move and inspire. He gives you hope, and it’s a testament to his songs that while the context has shifted—wither Reagan/Thatcher, welcome Bush/Blair (and later Brown)—his music still makes you want to storm the gates.“- Pitchfork

“_Mr Love & Justice_ is [Bragg’s] best realised work musically for ages.“- *The Guardian