Dead Mans Bones - CD


anti-records - Dead Mans Bones - CD
CD ($10.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. Intro
  2. Dead Hearts
  3. In The Room Where You Sleep
  4. Buried In Water
  5. My Body’s A Zombie For You
  6. Pa Pa Power
  7. Young & Tragic
  8. Paper Ships
  9. Lose Your Soul
  10. Werewolf Heart
  11. Dead Man’s Bones
  12. Flowers Grow Out Of My Grave

This album was not supposed to be an album. This was intended to be a soundtrack to a play about a monster-ghost-love-story. When Zach Shields and Ryan Gosling met in 2005 and discovered their mutual obsession with ghosts, they decided to write the afore-mentioned ghastly love story. Scrapping the stage show when costs became prohibitive, they already had songs written and decided to continue. The pair chose to play all the instruments on the record, even those they had never touched before. They also imposed rules on themselves during the recording process, like not playing with a click track, or trying to do no more than three takes on any song, letting any imperfections highlight the strengths of the music. Enlisting the help of the Silverlake Conservatory Children’s Choir to round out the tunes, the album was produced by Tim Anderson of I’m A Robot. The result is a striking collection of doo-wop songs about werewolves, haunting melodies telling tales of zombies with broken hearts, and children singing the joys and pains of being alive or being dead.