Gone Ain't Gone - CD


anti-records - Gone Ain't Gone - CD
CD ($10.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. The Mystery of Love
  2. My Friends Have
  3. Crazy Love
  4. Last Song
  5. No Child of Mine
  6. Before the Poison
  7. There Is a Ghost
  8. In the Factory
  9. Desperanto
  10. City of Quartz

If you long for the days of when Beck Hansen was a nobody, armed with only his quirkiness and a sampler, then the debut album by Tim Fite, Gone Ain’t Gone, is definitely recommended. Fewer and fewer rock artists of the early 21st century are following in the footsteps of what seemed like the “future of rock” during the mid- to late ‘90s creating songs from samples of other artists. The chameleon-like Brooklyn-based artist adapts to several different styles on his debut, most notably assuming the identity of a rapper on “Forty-Five Remedies,” a new waver on “No Good Here,” and a folkie on “Took a Wife.” But Gone Ain’t Gone is not entirely samples, as several real, breathing musicians stop by to add to the unpredictable sonic stew, including a cellist, a baritone ukulele plucker, and even Ben Kweller, who lends some 12-string guitar work to the sleepy album closer, “The More You Do.” Samples may prove to be a major ingredient here, but Fite succeeds at keeping things surprisingly organic sounding throughout. With Gone Ain’t Gone, Tim Fite proves that slacker rock is still alive and well.