Click for shipping updates during the current Covid-19 outbreak before ordering

Scene Of The Crime - CD


anti-records - Scene Of The Crime - CD
CD ($12.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. Take Me Like I Am (Still Want To Be Your Baby)
  2. Choices
  3. Jealousy
  4. You Don’t Know Me At All
  5. Somebody Pick Up My Pieces
  6. They Call It Love
  7. Last Time
  8. Talking Old Soldiers
  9. Before The Money Came (Battle Of Bettye LaVette)
  10. I Guess We Shouldn’t Talk About That Now

Few singers of any era get a second chance. The soul diva Lavette’s career in the 1970’s hit a rough patch due to record label troubles, but whatever hyperbolic statement about pure talent resurfacing can be made-Bettye Lavette is unavoidably BACK in a way that most singers can only dream of. Her timeless, smoky voice is now backed by the Drive By Truckers and she has collected 10 unforgettable songs.

“LaVette she’s pulling a knife out of her side, releasing every bit of frustration, pain, and disappointment from her soul. Of course, she’s the one getting the last laugh. “Forty years I kept singing, before the money started rolling in!” she declares. But it’s not just the cash that’s bringing her so much satisfaction in 2007. It’s the principle.” Pitchfork

Related Products