District Line - CD


anti-records - District Line - CD
CD ($12.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. Stupid Now
  2. Who Needs To Dream?
  3. Again and Again
  4. Old Highs, New Lows
  5. Return To Dust
  6. The Silence Between Us
  7. Shelter Me
  8. Very Temporary
  9. Miniature Parade
  10. Walls In Time

Guitarist/singer/songwriter Bob Mould returns to form as a solo artist on his ANTI- debut, District Line. Mould was an ‘80s punk pioneer with Minneapolis’ Husker Du – the band All Music Guide credits with laying the groundwork for emo and most of today’s rock bands – and indie rock god with ‘90s juggernaut Sugar. It is near impossible to calculate the level of impact or influence that Husker Du has had on the last two decades of modern rock, from the Pixies to Nirvana, to Green Day to Daft Punk.

Now comes District Line, combining the fire of Mould’s earliest work in Husker Du, the accessibility of his alternative rock, genre-defining trio Sugar, and the introspection found in his solo releases. Mould wrote, produced and mixed District Line in his adopted hometown of Washington, D.C., offering what he describes as “stories of my simple life in a complicated town.” Working with Fugazi drummer Brendan Canty, Mould has returned to the live band sound of Husker Du and Sugar to kick out ten songs that sound as youthful, energized and immediate as anything he has ever recorded.