Alec Ounsworth-Mo Beauty - CD


anti-records - Alec Ounsworth-Mo Beauty - CD
CD ($9.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. Modern Girl (...with scissors)
  2. Bones In The Grave
  3. Holy, Holy, Holy Moses (song for New Orleans)
  4. That Is Not My Home (After Bruegel)
  5. Idiots In The Rain
  6. South Philadelphia (Drug Days)
  7. What Fun
  8. Me and You, Watson
  9. Obscene Queen Bee #2
  10. When You’ve No Eyes

The Philadelphia native, who earned acclaim with his band Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, recently recorded his debut solo record in the music-steeped metropolis of New Orleans at the famed Piety St. recording studio. The result is an album that is framed by and its spirit is formed alongside its surroundings.

Mo Beauty carries on Clap Your Hands’ vein of quirky humor, unashamed melody, and sonic experimentation, but with the weight of New Orleans and its history hovering over the recording, Ounsworth has dug deep on songs like Holy, Holy, Holy Moses (song for New Orleans), while tracks like South Philadelphia groove in a whole new way. Fans of Clap Your Hands will love Mo Beauty and Ounsworth s singular voice, while a whole new audience will respond to the bedrock foundation of the new songs.