Live: Hope At The Hideout - CD


anti-records - Live: Hope At The Hideout - CD
CD ($12.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. For What It’s Worth
  2. Eyes on the Prize
  3. Down in Mississippi
  4. Wade in the Water
  5. Waiting For My Child
  6. This Little Light
  7. Why Am I Treated So Bad
  8. Freedom Highway
  9. We Shall Not Be Moved
  10. Circle Intro (encore)
  11. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (encore)
  12. On My Way (encore)
  13. I’ll Take You There (encore)

On Monday June 23rd a lucky few Chicagoans were treated to an intimate performance at the Hideout by the leading lady of protest, Mavis Staples. Accustomed to appearances at large venues, particularly in her hometown – the Windy City itself – Staples played with a stripped down, raw and swampy three-piece band and just a handful of back-up singers, providing a rare opportunity for fans to get close and sweaty with a figure who has led the musical charge towards equality and justice for the past five decades.

Fortunately, the magical set was captured on tape, and now the rest of us can experience the righteous protest and joyful inspiration Mavis imparted that evening via Mavis Staples Live: Hope at the Hideout. “Anyone who was hearing this American treasure in concert for the first time learned precious lessons about where we have been and where we are today.” – Dave Hoekstra, Chicago Sun Times