Devils Brigade CD


epitaph-records - Devils Brigade CD
CD ($11.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

Devils Brigade – Devils Brigade CD

Track listing:

  1. I’m Movin Through
  2. My Own Man Now
  3. Shakedown
  4. Bridge Of Gold (featuring Tim Armstrong and Lars Frederiksen)
  5. Darlene
  6. Ride Harley Ride
  7. Who’s Gonna Save You Now
  8. Desperate Times
  9. Vampire Girl
  10. Gentleman Of the Road (featuring Tim Armstrong)
  11. Protest Song
  12. Half Way To Hell

Celebrated Bay Area punk legend Matt Freeman of Rancid and Operation Ivy fame has released his long awaited, self-titled debut album for his side project Devils Brigade via Hellcat Records. Devils Brigade was conceived in 2000, when bassist Matt Freeman began writing songs with Tim Armstrong between Rancid tours. This led to a few EPs and some songs on Hellcat’s Give ‘Em The Boot compilation, but the project was put on the back burner when Rancid began touring and recording again. Years went by and after Rancid took a break from touring on the Let The Dominoes Fall record, Matt got the itch to reactivate the project with a new studio album.

“The original concept for this record was going to be a musical,” says Freeman. “Tim had been kicking around an idea of doing a musical about the building of the Golden Gate Bridge. He had the title ‘Half Way To Hell Club.’ This was based on the name for the bridge workers who fell off the bridge while it was being built and fell into the safety net that was between them and the ocean. We grew up in the East Bay looking at that bridge and it has always been a part of our lives. Six of those songs ended up on the Devils Brigade record. The other songs were all original Devils Brigade songs from the first demo. We thought they were still good and we should record them again.”

In early 2010, Matt and Tim entered the studio with DJ Bonebrake from the influential punk group X and recorded twelve quick tempered songs featuring Matt’s signature, snarling vocals along with his snap, thumping upright bass, which shine through on roots driven punk tracks like “I’m Moving Through,” “Who’s Gonna Save Your Now” and “My Own Man Now.”

This item comes with a CD version of the album and a digital download of the album in Mp3 format!