Arm's Way - CD


anti-records - Arm's Way - CD
CD ($11.99)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

  1. The Arm
  2. Pieces of You
  3. J‘aime Vous Voir Quitter
  4. Abominable Snow
  5. Creeper
  6. Kids Don’t Know Shit
  7. Life In Jail
  8. In the Rushes
  9. We Swim
  10. To a Bond
  11. I Feel Evil Creeping In
  12. Vertigo (If It’s a Crime)

Islands’ Anti- Records debut Arm’s Way finds the young, critically-acclaimed Montreal sextet heading in a surprising new direction. Their 2006 release, Return to the Sea, was heralded as a stunning work of impulsive outbursts and emotional explorations. Arm’s Way sees the band naturally evolving to a more lavish, yet centered, sound that showcases songwriter Nick Thorburn’s astounding talent. Prefix Magazine has called him “an extraordinary songwriter.” With Ryan Hadlock (Blonde Redhead, Stephen Malkmus) as co-producer, Island’s Arm’s Way opens the door to a sprawling symphonic world that fans and critics have been looking for.

“On _Arm’s Way_, gifted singer-songwriter Nick Thorburn broadens the band’s quirk-pop into wonderfully shambolic arena rock — for an arena of 5,000 people. Guitars mingle with viola, clarinet and piano, hopping genres and tempos with an Of Montreal-style theatricality” – Rolling Stone

“As a fully realized, bombastically confident artistic statement, Arm’s Way is Nick Thorburn’s 69 Love Songs. Hereafter we will only seek to understand him according to his own pop- and violence-addled logic, mapped perfectly on this thrilling album.“- Slant Magazine